A STEP CLOSER TO SUCCESS

By Hanna Marie Flores

I know for a fact that education is the key to a person’s success. That’s why if a genie in a bottle would grant me a superpower, I would ask for the ability to educate each and every one of the children around the world.

That would be awesome, wouldn’t it? But then, I am only an ordinary human being with limited time and resources. Reality sometimes frustrate me, especially since I am an educator working for a social development-oriented NGO.

Why is it that no matter how much effort I exert, it feels like they are never enough? It’s not that we, at the Kapatiran-Kaunlaran Foundation Inc. (KKFI), are not trying. We are, I assure you. And work, we continue to do.

But I want to tell you something incredible. What I found out lately is that when you simply work, blessings and opportunities come. It is God’s way of saying, “Relax my child. You are not alone, I got you.” And, indeed, he does!

One such opportunity that knocked recently came in the form of Open High School through Adamson University. The prestigious institution offered free secondary education to out-of-school youth.

adamson.jpg

Adamson University

 

Yes, poor students don’t need to pay a single penny. Despite that, they can still can use school facilities like the library and the laboratories like any paying students.

The news opened many opportunities for our recipients. Their dreams have just become clearer. They are now a step closer to becoming the achievers I know that they can be.

However, just like any other partnership, glitches cannot be avoided. So when Adamson specified that they can only accept incoming Grade 7, I almost panicked. Most of our would-be recipients are have not reached that level. What now?

I asked Adamson if there’s anything that they could do to accept those that are already in high school. They said they will do it internally. All I could do was wait.

The almost two weeks of waiting for the decision was a torture! What if the outcome is not what as I’d like it to be? What am I going to do? How do I break the news to the young dreamers? I am sure such a scenario would devastate them.

Oh how I prayed that they would make a decision other than what I feared they would come up with. Indeed, God has an uncanny way of showing how He is in control.

One day, I received a message from Adamson University informing me that they have considered accepting incoming Grade 8 and 9 as well. And they will!

Thank God! Just as when I thought that I am once again set for a disappointment, came the assurance the He got me… and I am not alone.

 

(Hanna is the education officer in charge of the scholarship, Alternative Learning System (ALS) and Open High School programs. She is the newest staff member of the KKFI Program Department, with only two months into the job.)

Leave a Reply

