FOURTH TIME IS THE CHARM

by Jean Dominic G. Sison

(Translated by Glenda B. Gutierrez)

 

I am Jean Dominic G. Sison and I am 20 years old. We live in Barangay Concepcion in Malabon, a city north of Manila. My parents are Jose and Lanie Sison, company driver and office staff, respectively. I am the third of four children. I am currently working at Kai-BlisS Restobar as assistant cook.

I stopped schooling at the Tenajeros National High School after the second level of high school. I was encouraged by my former high school teacher to consider entering the Alternative Learning System (ALS) since she told me I am over-aged.

I initially took ALS in Malabon Elementary School and took the Accreditation and Equivalency (A & E) Examination thrice, but I was unsuccessful.

Still, I grabbed the opportunity enroll in the ALS program of Kapatiran-Kaunlaran Foundation Inc. (KKFI) since I wanted to continue studying to college. Why? Because this is my gift to my family, my wife Dovely and my young daughter.  I know that if only I could reach college and finish it, I would be able to have better job opportunities and a more secure future for them.

navotasPassers
Jean Dominic (far left) with fellow ALS passers from Navotas City. (Photo by Ana Martin/KKFI)

I had a difficult time coping with my ALS courses because I was already working and the sessions were held at the St. Peter United Methodist Church (UMC) in the neighboring city of Navotas.

However, I was determined to pass so I never failed to attend the sessions. I really prepared for the exam by reviewing hard. I also made sure I understood the test questions. I never considered giving up my dreams.

You cannot describe my joy in learning that I passed the A&E exam. This is my chance to achieve my dreams and I plan to save money in order to enroll in college.

Indeed, I am ready to reach my dreams. I know that with God’s provision and guidance and my determination and perseverance, I will be a head chef soon.

Leave a Reply

