ANSWERED PRAYER

by Rolly Boy Rejano

Translated by Glenda B. Gutierrez

 

“My name is Rolly Boy R. Rejano. I am 17 years old and I live in Tondo, Manila. I describe myself as a happy, simple, helpful, respectful, loving, and shy guy.

“My mother is Racquel Rejano, 34, a food vendor and my father is Rolando Rejano, 39, a jeepney driver. I am the eldest of three children. My siblings are Ledielyn Mae and Ruby Lance.

“Life is not easy but my parents continue to persevere to earn a living. Somehow, they are able to provide our daily needs.

“Despite the daily provisions, I lost focus and was influenced by my friends to cut classes and later on stop schooling altogether. I even had vices then.

“I almost lost hope, but two years later, I learned about the Alternative Learning System (ALS) Program of the Kapatiran-Kaunlaran Foundation Inc. in our Barangay Hall. I really wanted to finish my studies so I enrolled in the program.

“ALS is not easy. I persevered and studied hard. I was really determined to pass so no thoughts of giving up entered my mind.

“What I did to pass the Accreditation and Equivalency (A&E) examination was, first, I prayed, second, I reviewed and last, I focused on understanding the test questions so I could answer them correctly.

“And my prayers were answered by Jesus. Indeed, I was very happy to know that I passed the A&E exam. Now, I can slowly but surely achieve my dreams. I plan to continue my studies to become a seaman someday. This has always been my dream since I was a child. My inspirations are my parents and the Lord Jesus Christ.

“I want to earn enough money for my family. I know everyone wishes to have a better life. But this is my promise to parents.

“I am ready to face the challenges in life.  I know Jesus is faithful and will guide and give me wisdom. In His time, I will achieve my dreams.”

Leave a Reply

